Studio 150 Bethlehemkerk Livestream Concerts presents:

Join us for the Opening Concert of our Russian Weekend in the acoustically wonderful Bethlehemkerk, for a concert full of emotional, colorful Russian masterworks, inspired by the tragic love story of Romeo and Juliet. The concert is framed by two rarely heard, brilliant versions Shakespeare’s tale, with Vladimir Mendelssohn’s stunning arrangement of Tchaikovsky’s Phantasy Overture conjuring up the emotional power and magic of a full symphony orchestra. Tchaikovsky’s touching and deeply personal story of forbidden love is portrait in his gorgeous Third String Quartet, and in Shostakovich’ devastatingly powerful Piano Trio we plunge the emotional depths.

Anna Fedorova, piano
Daniel Rowland, violin
Benjamin Roskams, violin
Dana Zemtsov, viola
Mikhail Zemtsov, viola
Maja Bogdanovic, cello
Alexander Warenberg, cello
Nicky Schwartz, cello & double bass

Prokofiev: Romeo and Julia suite - for violin and piano
Tchaikovsky, from string quartet no 3, Andante funebre‘ (forbidden love)
Shostakovich Trio N 2
Tchaikovsky waltz sentimental with a movie projection
Tchaikovsky Fantasy-Overture

This concert is supported by the Amsterdam Studio Concerts Fund.