Studio 150 Bethlehemkerk Livestream Concerts presents:

Tonight's stream we welcome back Diet Tilanus and Olivier Patey. This time they will perform two pieces for string quartet and clarinet. They will bring Mozart's Clarinet Quintet, K. 581, in it's originally written version. Thus including the basset clarinet, which is a longer version of the more usual soprano clarinet with the lower range extended to written C.
The other piece they will play is the more modern 'The Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind' by Osvaldo Golijov.
This piece is about Isaac The Blind, the great kabbalist rabbi of Provence. He dictated a manuscript in which he asserted that all things and events in the universe are product of combinations of the Hebrew alphabet's letters: 'Their root is in a name, for the letters are like branches, which appear in the manner of flickering flames, mobile, and nevertheless linked to the coal'. His conviction still resonates today: don't we have scientists who believe that the clue to our life and fate is hidden in other codes?

Diet Tilanus - violin
Jae-won Lee - violin
Frederik Boits - viola
Jérôme Fruchart - cello
Olivier Patey - clarinet
Make sure you tune in at 7 pm CET on Youtube and Facebook!

This concert is supported by the Amsterdam Studio Concerts Fund.